Books I DNF’d so far this year

Time for some real talk. There are so many books to read in this world that finishing a book that you don’t enjoy or like is just a waste of time.  This means that sometimes we just have to give up on books and face the fact that we never will finish that particular book. This is not a failure, you gave it a go and found that it wasn’t good. We are all made different and we will not like every single book we read.

I usually try to read about 20% of a book before I decide whether I will finish it or not. But it does happen that I quit much sooner, I once gave up after 3 pages (the writing was horrible and I wanted to murder someone). But it does happen that I read more than half the book before I give up.

So far this year I have dnf’d several books. In fact, let me list them for you.

  1. Stones and Finger Bones by Jessica Minyard
  2. Mark of the Black Arrow by Debbie Viguié
  3. Steel Lily by Megan Curd
  4. Bound by Duty by Stormy Smith
  5. The Witches of the Glass Castle by Gabriella Lepore
  6. Highland Raven by Melanie Karsak
  7. Evanescent by Gabriella Lepore

So far it isn’t that many. But last year I think I dnf’d over 30 books. And there is nothing wrong with that. If you for any reason don’t want to finish a book, then don’t finish it.

296490_464319116922067_1857195089_n1

Do you feel bad about dnf-ing books? How long do you wait until you dnf a book?

One thought on “Books I DNF’d so far this year

  1. I feel really REALLY guilty about dnf-ing anything. I feel like somehow it’s my OBLIGATION to read it. (Though it is not) And I give it a real go just keep on reading even if nothing makes sense but if something really doesn’t make any sense “Sorry bro. You’re gone” and there goes the book from the cliff. (Not really. 😂)

    Like

Leave a Reply

