Saga, vol 1. by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples

img_0477

Original Title: Saga

Year Published: 2012

Published by:  Image Comics

Number of Pages: 160

First Sentence: N/A

Goodreads Rating: 4/5

Plot:

When two soldiers from opposite sides of a never-ending galactic war fall in love, they risk everything to bring a fragile new life into a dangerous old universe.

From bestselling writer Brian K. Vaughan, Saga is the sweeping tale of one young family fighting to find their place in the worlds. Fantasy and science fiction are wed like never before in this sexy, subversive drama for adults.

Collecting: Saga 1-6

My thoughts:

I was a little apprehensive about reading this graphic novel, but since so many have praised it I figured I’d give it a go. I’m totally glad I did! It was amazing and I’m looking forward to reading the rest. The story was really interesting and super entertaining. The world building was really well done and pretty detailed. There were some question marks, but I guess that they will be explained later on.

We have several characters in this graphic novel that the story revolves around and they all bring something important to the table. Some you will absolutely love, like our loving new parents, some that you aren’t sure about, like our assassin and some that you feel will completely go off the rails, like our prince.

I’m realising now that since this is a graphic novel that I should show you an example of what it looks like, but sadly enough, I did not think of that earlier and since the book is now moved to my “storage shelf” at my dad’s house, I can’t photograph it :/

Word of warning: this story contains some foul language and some more graphic scenes. This is not a story for younger kids to read, but it is not advertised as such. It also contains issues such as children being used as sex slaves.

Do I recommend it? 

Yes, I do.

 

Want to buy it? Consider using this link to do so. All proceeds go to improving this blog.

Leave a Reply

