Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick (Hush, Hush #1)

img_3890

Original Title: Hush, Hush

Year Published: 2010

Published by:  Simon & Schuster BFYR

Number of Pages: 391

First Sentence: Chauncey was with a farmer’s daughter on the grassy banks of  the Loire River when the storm rolled in, and having let his gelding wander in the meadow, was left to his own two feet to carry him back to the château.

Goodreads Rating: 4/5

Plot:

When Nora and Patch are forced together as lab partners, Nora would rather fall to her death than put up with his elusive answers to her questions, his teasing, and his infuriatingly handsome face and hypnotizing eyes. It seems Patch was put on earth just to drive her crazy.

But before long, Nora’s defenses start to break down as her curiosity about Patch heats up. Why does he always seem to be wherever she is and know exactly what she’s thinking? How does he know what to say to both attract and repulse her? And what is up with those V-shaped scars on his chiseled back?

As their connection grows stronger, Nora’s own life becomes increasingly fragile. Nora needs to decide: Is Patch the one who wants to do her harm or the one who will keep her safe? Has she fallen for one of the fallen?

My thoughts:

This was a really enjoyable book. It was quite fun to read and was entertaining from start to finish. It did have some unrealistic elements (yeah, unrealistic even for a paranormal/ fantasy book) that did bother me to some extent.

Nora was a pleasant character and I liked her. Sure, like any teenager she could be moody and behave in a quite over dramatic fashion. However, this did not distract from the fact that she was a good main character that you as a reader did come to care about. She was part badass and part vulnerable which I liked very much. She reacted to the situations she faced in a way that felt real and believable. She got scared but she dug down and got over it, despite still being scared.

Pach was a bit of a babe. To be honest though, I didn’t like him at all to begin with, seeing him more as a bit of a stalker than a future love interest. We do get this behavior explained later on though and you do forgive him for the way he acted. It might be in part the whole “bad boy” phenomenon that we all seem to have a weakness for or the fact that he does actually try to redeem himself.

There are of course other characters that do play important parts and that you will both love and hate. What can be said here is that Nora does not treat her so-called best friend in a way a good friend should. In fact, if I were that friend I’d be pretty pissed with Nora. Another thing was the mom, which was one of those unrealistic elements, who was hardly ever at home. I’m sorry but a mom leaving her teenage daughter at home for long stretches alone did not compute (but yes, I know this happens). However, not when it isn’t because the mom is portrayed as negligent.

The plot was entertaining and quite fun. The tempo was ok, it did have moments when it felt like the story just paused and stood still for quite some time. However, it did pick up though and the overall story was worth suffering through the slow bits.

Do I recommend it? 

Yes, I do.

Edit (2017-01-28): I have actually given this book some thought after writing the review and I would like to change one of my opinions on the book. In my original review, I wrote that Patch was a bit of a babe, sort of stalkerish, yada yada (just read above) but that he turns out OK. I came to realise that something here was quite wrong. I accepted the stalker behaviour since he then became the love interest of the book. It is the Edward Cullen effect. Stalking is never ok, and it is not OK for anyone, boy or girl, to behave the way Patch does. He is not cool or mysterious, he is a stalker and creepy. I realised that if I came across a guy like this in real life, or if one of my friends told me about a guy acting like this to them, I would run swiftly in the other directions and tell my friends to do the same. Girls, you deserve a guy that treats you like a princess, and boys, you deserve to be treated like princes. Patch could have been mysterious and the “bad boy” without being a creeper and stalker, but he isn’t and that is inexcusable.

4 thoughts on “Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick (Hush, Hush #1)

    • Totally understand that! Since one of my friends absolutely loved it I persevered, but me and Patch never really got along. The worst part about it is that young girls might think that this kind of behaviour is a good thing, since it means that the “hot guy” notices them. It does promote stalking by boys as a positive thing, whether Fitzpatrick meant to write Patch as a stalker or not. Since it sadly enough is common in YA for the male love interest to be stalkerish it has become a very common trope and considered common and even romantic behaviour. Which is just wrong, and that is why I felt that it had to be written. Thank you for your comment and I completely understand why you didn’t continue. My feelings for Patch actually get worse and worse the more I think about it, which just proves that it/he represents a very unhealthy behaviour and something that we women (and men) should be careful with.

      Like

Leave a Reply

