Dark Triumph by Robin LaFevers (His Fair Assassin #2)

img_3891

Original Title: Dark Triumph

Year Published: 2013

Published by:  Andersen

Number of Pages: 467

First Sentence: I did not arrive at the convent of Saint Mortain some green stripling.

Goodreads Rating: 4/5

Plot:

I lean forward, pushing my body out past the battlements. The wind plucks at my cloak, buffets against me, as if it would carry me off in flight, just like the birds or the knight’s soul. Let go, it cries, I will take you far, far away. I want to laugh at the exhilarating feeling, I will catch you, it whistles seductively.

The convent has returned Sybella to a life that nearly drove her mad. Her father’s rage and brutality are terrifying, and her brother’s love is equally monstrous. When she discovers an unexpected ally imprisoned in the dungeons, will a daughter of Death find something other than vengeance to live for?

My thoughts:

This was such an enjoyable sequel to Grave Mercy, and I’m already looking forward to reading the third book in this series. It is just fantastic, and I love how the future main characters were so cleverly introduced in the first book, meaning that you already feel like you know them, but not like it’s just a repetition of the first book. Instead there are new people and new stories to be told. Brilliant.

Oh Sibylla. I just… I don’t really know what to say. Somebody hand me a blanket and help me protect this dear beloved child. She is just so broken yet so very strong. I absolutely love her and I will fight you if you dare dislike her. Sibylla is rough around the edges, but who wouldn’t be if they had gone through what she has.

Beast is just amazing. I absolutely adore him and did so from the first book. He is the picture perfect representation of a man’s man who then turns out to be a big marshmallow. A guy who looks like a grizzly bear but is actually a teddy bear. I absolutely loved him and it was great to see him, just like Sibylla, grow as a character.

The plot is so much fun. It is interesting and entertaining, and it is pretty much perfectly paced. The writing is brilliant and together with the characters, this becomes the perfect mix. It does follow the events of the first book but if you have forgotten half of what happened in Grave Mercy, then hath no fear, everything is either quickly re-explained or not that vital to the plot in this book.

Do I recommend it? 

Yes, I do.

Leave a Reply

