Blackheath by Gabriella Lepore (The Blackheath Witches #1

28252551

Original Title: Blackheath

Year Published: 2015

Published by:  Oftomes Publishing

Number of Pages: 284

First Sentence: “What do you know about the Tomlins family?” Officer Bryant asked, folding his hands on the table as he scrutinised the girl in the seat opposite him.”

Goodreads Rating: 4/5

Plot:

Seventeen-year-old Maggie Ellmes is dogged by a case of chronic bad luck. She figures that’s just her lot in life—that is, until the psychic at Blackheath’s annual carnival reveals that Maggie’s problems are caused by more than just ordinary misfortune; she’s actually been cursed.
Desperate to shake the hex, Maggie has no choice but to seek out the help of Joel Tomlins, a rebellious classmate who’s descended from Blackheath’s most powerful line of witches. After breaking all of his coven’s conventions to help her, Joel discovers that the curse isn’t as bad as Maggie fears. In fact, it’s much, much worse.

My thoughts:

I really enjoyed this book. I do believe that Gabriella Lepore is quickly becoming one of my favourite authors.

Maggie was lovely and I really enjoyed her as a character. She felt really normal and realistic, was allowed to be badass and yet affected both positively and negatively by the things that were happening around her.

Joel is just amazing and I loved reading the bits that were written from his point of view. He is just so lovely, yet sassy and very loyal to his family. However, he does suffer from the middle child syndrome, being slightly forgotten when you have the glorious first child and the beloved third/final child. I can relate with the whole feeling of coming second, because during my teenage years I always felt that my brother was more pampered than me, which  my teenage brain translated to him being more loved than me (he wasn’t and I have had this conversation with the parentals and it’s all sorted). But this still meant that I could relate to Joel.

The plot was both entertaining and interesting. However, there are parts of this books that are strangely paced or just feels a bit like fillers which is why this did not get a 5 out of 5 by me. Otherwise, this book was pure brilliance. Lepore has created a world and witchy mythology that feels very original yet believable. Apart from the action we get in this book, we also get a lot of exploration of different types of relationships.

What I loved the most about this book was the fact that THE BOY IS THE WITCH. Not the girl, but the boy. Hell yes, I believe “witch” is just a title and not ruled by gender, so therefore boys can be witches too. Good on ya Lepore, good on ya.

Do I recommend it? 

Yes, I do.

Leave a Reply

