ARC Review: Mer-Charmer by Amy Bearce (World of Aluvia #2)

perf6.000x9.000.indd

Original Title: Mer-Charmer

Year Published: 2016

Published by:  (an arc was kindly provided via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review)

Number of Pages: 219

First Sentence: “The ocean never gave up.

Goodreads Rating: 3/5

Plot:

Fourteen-year-old Phoebe Quinn is surrounded by magic, but she can’t muster any of her own. Her sister is a fairy keeper. Her best friends are merfolk. And all she does is dishes and housework.

When Phoebe finds out a terrible sea creature is awakening that preys upon the peace-loving merfolk, she becomes determined to help them, even though it means going with Tristan and Mina to their home deep in the sea.

Beneath the waves, Phoebe learns she’s more like her sister than she realized. The merfolk are drawn to her, and she can sense the magic of the sea all around her. Magic is finally at her fingertips, but that’s precisely why the stirring dark power under the waters decides it wants her most of all.

Now she must not only help the peaceful merfolk escape this ancient enemy, she must master her out-of-control powers. If she fails, she will die and darkness will rise and enslave the merfolk once more. But embracing her full power could cost her the very people she loves the most.

My thoughts:

I absolutely loved Fairy Keeper, which is the first book in this series or trilogy, but this one wasn’t as good. I’m not sure if it just suffers from the sequel syndrome or if it is because I didn’t enjoy these characters as much as I did in the first book.

In this book the focus switches from Sierra to Phoebe, from older sister to younger sister. I adored Sierra, but there is something about Phoebe that I don’t like. I can’t really put my finger on it but for some reason I find her slightly annoying. It might be that she is supposed to be fourteen-years-old and Bearce have actually managed to properly portray her as being that age, but I can’t say that for sure.

In fact, the characters overall might be the issue. It’s not that I disliked them but I never really got invested in them. They were interesting enough that I enjoyed reading them but I was quite indifferent to what happened to the characters in this book.

It’s not all doom and gloom though. The plot is very interesting and entertaining, and I did enjoy that. The characters do have their moments and it’s not like I hated them. Although it doesn’t manage to replicate the magic of the first book it still has some magic to it.

Do I recommend it? 

Yes, I do actually.

Leave a Reply

