Gifted Thief by Helen Harper (Highland Magic #1)

26794855

Original Title: Gifted Thief

Year Published: 2016

Published by: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform  (an arc was kindly provided via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review)

Number of Pages: 348

First Sentence: The girl with no name scurried down the corridor, hiking up her skirt to avoid the hem from trailing along the dusty floor.

Goodreads Rating: 4/5

Plot:

Orphan. Runaway. Thief.

Since the moment I was ripped from my mother’s womb, I’ve been an outcast amongst my own kind. The Sidhe might possess magical Gifts, unbelievable wealth and unfathomable power but I don’t want a thing to do with them. I ran away from their lands in the Highlands of Scotland when I was eleven years old and I’ve never looked back. I don’t need a Clan. I’ve got my own family of highly skilled thieves who mean more to me than any Sidhe ever could.

Unfortunately for me, the playboy heir to the Moncrieffe Clan has something I desperately need. To get it back, I’m going to have to plunge myself back into that world, no matter what the consequences may be. I suppose it’s just as well I have sense of humour. I think I’m going to need it.

My thoughts:

I was positively surprised by this book. When reading the blurb on Netgalley the idea I had for it was much different than the actual book. I never understood that it would be set in modern day and was surprised to find it was. However, that actually made the book better than I thought it would be.

Integrity (yes, it’s her name), is a fun main character. She is sassy, badass but still very human (despite being sidhe). She had a lot of spunk, but not too much, which happens sometimes when authors want to create a badass heroine. She was a very realistic mc and I really liked her.

Byron, the sort of love interest, was such a twat though. He had moments where he was likeable, but otherwise he was the guy that knows that he is good looking and uses it to his advantage. However, he does have some redeeming qualities (as all book bad boys do) and I do believe that he might develop in a positive direction throughout the trilogy.

The plot was very fun and really entertaining. Perfect mix of action, drama and humour. The plot was well laid out and it was almost perfectly paced. I also liked the world in this book. It is a sort of dystopia where the fae are the ruling class. It felt very original and it was so much fun to read.

Do I recommend it? 

Yes, it was a fun book.

Leave a Reply

