Spencer Cohen Book One by N.R. Walker (Spencer Cohen #1)

28436109.jpg

Original Title: Spencer Cohen, Book One

Year Published: 2016

Published by: BlueHeart

Number of Pages: 137

First Sentence: I walked out of the tattoo shop on Abbot Kinney Boulevard and smiled into the warm LA afternoon sun.” 

Goodreads Rating: 5/5

Plot:

Spencer Cohen is the guy who gets answers to relationship questions. Playing the role of the new lover, his job is to make his client’s ex realise one of two things: he doesn’t want to break up or he really does. Either way, his client gets answers.

The ex would either apologize and beg, or turn and walk. But in the end, Spencer’s client won. If he wanted his ex back and got him, it was great. If the guy walked away, then as hard it was for the client, he knew it was over. Regardless of the outcome, Spencer’s work was done.

Andrew Landon’s ex left him without so much as an explanation. But his sister can’t stand to see him miserable, so, much to Andrew’s dismay, they hire Spencer to be Andrew’s new boyfriend to get the ex back.

For Spencer, it is never personal. Merely a business transaction. No emotions, no strings, no complications.

Yeah right.

Even a blind man could see how this would end.

My thoughts:

I don’t know what I expected when I picked up this book. It was one of the first books I tried when I got Kindle Unlimited and I was prepared for disaster. I was so wrong. It was absolutely brilliant.

Spencer is absolutely adorable. I fell in love with him pretty much immediately. He is super charming and such a simple guy. I also loved that he could joke about himself, something some blokes in reality have a hard time with. So I love it when blokes like this are written as being humble and having a good sense of humor.

Andrew is such a little cutie. I loved that he was allowed to be insecure and very nerdy. Neither of these boys are the macho man type, and both are very secure in their sexuality, something that was very nice to read for once. Usually, one of the boys are being in denial or just very insecure about their sexuality, something that can get a little annoying. It didn’t exist here. Sure, they brought up the fact that society might not like it, but the boys were allowed to be very secure and settled into their sexuality.

The rest of the cast are just amazing and so much fun. They didn’t take over but they did add a lot of extra spice to the book. The plot was so much fun and entertaining. Although it is predictable, the ending that is, it is just super entertaining and I enjoyed it from start to finish.

Do I recommend it? 

Holy hell, yes I do!

Leave a Reply

