Us by Sarina Bowen and Elle Kennedy (Him #2)

businessman working on laptop  in black suit

Original Title: Us

Year Published: 2016

Published by:  Rennie Road Books

Number of Pages: 328

First Sentence: Vancouver is a beautiful city, but I can’t wait to leave it.

Goodreads Rating: 5/5

Plot:

Five months in, NHL forward Ryan Wesley is having a record-breaking rookie season. He’s living his dream of playing pro hockey and coming home every night to the man he loves—Jamie Canning, his longtime best friend turned boyfriend. There’s just one problem: the most important relationship of his life is one he needs to keep hidden, or else face a media storm that will eclipse his success on the ice.

Jamie loves Wes. He really, truly does. But hiding sucks. It’s not the life Jamie envisioned for himself, and the strain of keeping their secret is taking its toll. It doesn’t help that his new job isn’t going as smoothly as he’d hoped, but he knows he can power through it as long as he has Wes. At least apartment 10B is their retreat, where they can always be themselves.

Or can they?

When Wes’s nosiest teammate moves in upstairs, the threads of their carefully woven lie begin to unravel. With the outside world determined to take its best shot at them, can Wes and Jamie develop major-league relationship skills on the fly?

My thoughts:

My god, I absolutely love this book! It was absolutely brilliant. I loved the first book and was a little scared that book number two wasn’t going to be as good. Thank heavens I was wrong.

Jamie and Wes are just both so brilliant and I love them both. I loved seeing their character development but also seeing that not all was perfect in their life because they now were in a relationship. They still had to work together and handle things together. It did really feel like you were reading about two guys in their early 20’s, who suddenly had to be responsible adults and navigate adult life, finding that it isn’t always a walk in the park.

The plot is fun and has both romance and action in it. It never gets too sugary or over the top in any way. The plot feels realistic and I liked how the authors handled the boys and their everyday lives. Being a professional athlete and gay cannot be the easiest, despite the fact that society is slowly getting more accepting. It felt like the authors handled the gay athlete thing in a good way and like I said, it felt realistic.

The one thing that had me a little apprehensive is a thing I’ve found with many books concerning m/m romance. It’s the fact that the blokes are constantly horny. Sure, a healthy libido is something that is prominent in most new relationship but in books it can sometimes become a little unnecessary. This book tread on the edge on that for me, and that despite the fact that I knew that I would get a lot of sex scenes even before I started it. Still, it’s easy to overcome it, but it does get a little silly instead of sexy.

Do I recommend it? 

Yes, I really do.

Leave a Reply

