A Singular and Whimsical Problem by Rachel McMillan (A Herringford & Watts Novella 0.5))

25971504

Original Title: A Singular & Whimsical Problem

Year Published: 2015

Published by:  Harvest House Publishers, Inc.

Number of Pages: 54

First Sentence: The blade was at Merinda’s neck. 

Goodreads Rating: 5/5

Plot:

Christmas, 1910. Merinda Herringford and Jem Watts would be enjoying the season a lot more if they weren’t forced to do their own laundry and cooking. Just as they are adapting to their trusty housekeeper’s ill-timed vacation, they are confronted by the strangest mystery they’ve encountered since they started their private investigation firm.

My thoughts:

I loved The Bachelor Girl’s Guide to Murder and was super excited when I found this novella. And I was not disappointed. McMillan is a brilliant writer and makes even this short novella a super exciting and interesting read.

Merinda and Jem are both so enjoyable and I adore them both. I loved the Sherlock Holmes vibes these books have, and the fact that although the girls are the female versions of Holmes and Watson, they are still their own persons. They aren’t the same character with just a gender change, no, instead they share characteristics with the lads that gives and extra spice to their own original characteristics.

The plot was fun and engaging and fit perfectly within the 54 pages. The writing is smart and witty and I look forward to more adventures with Herringford and Watts.

Do I recommend it? 

Yes, I do.

2 thoughts on “A Singular and Whimsical Problem by Rachel McMillan (A Herringford & Watts Novella 0.5))

  1. Can I just tell you how DELIGHTED I am that you have taken the time to read my stories and review them!

    I really, really cannot tell you how much fun I have writing these books and spending time with these characters.

    Thank you SO much for taking the time to review 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am so glad to have found your books! It’s a pleasure to both read and review them 🙂 Looking forward to the second book! Thank YOU so much for taking time to read and comment on bloggers reviews, it means a lot to us knowing that the authors see and take in our thoughts on their books 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

