TTT: Ten Books I Feel Differently About After Time Has Passed

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the Broke and Bookish

This week’s topic is ten books I feel differently about after a time has passed. I have chosen books where my feelings have changed in both positive and negative ways.

  1. Twilight by Stephenie Meyer. I loved the books when I first read them. But having reread them later on and thinking back on them, I’ve come to realise that I actually dislike them very much. Not because of the movies, no they have nothing to do with it. but because I had a real long good think about what they actually were about. The characters aren’t good, the writing is bad and the ending is just weird. The only good thing is the basic plot, which is still a good idea.
  2. The Belgariad series by David Eddings. I loved this series as young, and I love it more now than I did then. My love for this series only grows as time passes, and the books still hold up.
  3. The Black Dagger Brotherhood series by J.R. Ward. Just like Twilight I loved these books when I first read them, but have come to find some issues when looking back.  I still like them and am sticking with the series, but don’t love them as much as I first did.
  4. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. My love for this book only grows and grows.
  5. Horrorstör by Grady Hendrix. This book is pure genius and I get more appreciative of this little book as time passes.
  6. Any of Terry Pratchett’s books. The older I get, the more I love his fantastic books. I understand them a lot more with age, the irony, the sarcasm and some of the events he refers to. Rereading them is like coming home.
  7. Attachments by Rainbow Rowell. I think all Rowell’s books just keeps on growing on me. The more I think of them, the more I love them.
  8. The Lost Art of Keeping Secrets by Eva Rice. I feel helplessly in love with this book when I first read it and I keep on rereading this book every single summer and fall more and more in love with it.
  9. Can You Keep A Secret? by Sophie Kinsella. Same story as the previous book.
  10. The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot. I loved this series when I read the first 4 books. But I was 13-years-old when I first started it so it suited my age. Nowadays, and having reread some of the books, I’ve come to realise that there are several things I dislike about these books.

 

Honorable mention: The Harry Potter books. I love these books, but it was several years since I last read them and I’m actually scared to reread them.  Why? Because I’m afraid they won’t be as magical as they were the last time I read them. I don’t want the magic to go away.

10 thoughts on “TTT: Ten Books I Feel Differently About After Time Has Passed

  1. OH I’m the same with Fangirl! I actually haven’t re-read that one yet but I REALLY WANT TO because it just has such fond memories for me and I love it the more I think about it. ❤ Cath was SO relatable. aHHHHHH.
    Here’s my TTT!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Absolutely adored it then and it gets better 😀 Had to reread it when Carry On came out and fell in love all over again 😀 I loved Cath, she’s my kind of girl 😀

      Like

  2. You are right about Rainbow Rowell – her books are ones I love to think about long after I’ve finished them. I will admit I still love Twilight. Although I haven’t gone for a re-read. Yet. 🙂 I was very late to the Twilight party, I started reading them just after Breaking Dawn part 1 came out in the movies. I devoured the booksand the films, even that first film which was pretty bad. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • So sorry for the late reply!!! RR is a godess! I hate that the Twilight books have lost all their magic because they were really important for me as a teen and now they are just bleh.

      Like

Leave a Reply

