Carthe Blance by Nash Summers

23520443

Original Title: Carthe Blanche

Year Published: 2014

Published by:  M/M Romance Group

Number of Pages: 61

First Sentence: I could hear it laughing at me from across the apartment, hiding beneath the kitchen cupboard.

Goodreads Rating: 4/5

Plot:

Everything is white in Jude Allen’s world. The smell of bleach lulls him to sleep at night, even as he fears everything beyond the confines of his apartment walls.

But when Devin Kidd, a kind, smiley stranger moves across the hall from him, Jude’s life is turned upside down. This new man encourages Jude to look at himself for who he really is, instead of the labels attached to his illness.

Will Jude be able to face his fears, and embrace his newfound perception of himself without losing Devin in the process?

My thoughts:

I really enjoyed this short story. I have read another book by Nash Summers that I absolutely adored and that was the main reason I chose to read this. I was a little apprehensive when realising what it was about, mainly a guy with severe OCD and how he lives his life with it. But it was expertly handled and only made the story better.

Jude is a great main character. He is interesting and entertaining. You can tell from the get go just how hard he struggles with his OCD and that he already before he meets Devin knows and wishes that he could conquer his OCD. I love seeing him develop as a person and the progress he makes.

Devin is the happy and seemingly carefree next-door neighbour kind of guy. But he is a bit more complex than that. He also has his struggles but tries not to burden Jude with them since he already has difficult problems to deal with. I love Devin, he made me smile so much during this little short story.

So I have no personal experience with severe OCD so I can’t say how easy it is to overcome it or if you can overcome it at all. But I still felt like it was handled realistically in this short story. Jude didn’t magically heal because of Devin, and although Devin was the biggest reason for why Jude started his healing, he wasn’t the only reason, nor was he the only thing that made Jude succeed. In fact, Jude himself came to the conclusion that he had to want it for himself not because he wanted to please somebody else. You might want to beware though if you find yourself triggered by reading about others mental illnesses.

Do I recommend it? 

Yes, I do.

Leave a Reply

