The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

IMG_2395

Original Title: The Sky is Everywhere

Year Published: 2015

Published by: Walker Books

Number of Pages: 320

First Sentence: Grandma is worried about me.

Goodreads Rating: 5/5

Plot:

For fans of John Green, David Levithan and Rainbow Rowell: a beautiful, funny and heartfelt novel about love and forgiveness. Seventeen-year-old Lennie Walker spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey. But when Bailey dies abruptly, Lennie is catapulted to centre stage of her own life – and suddenly finds herself struggling to balance two boys. One boy takes Lennie out of her sorrow; the other comforts her in it. But the two can’t collide without Lennie’s world exploding…

My thoughts:

This book was absolutely beautiful. The writing was enchanting, the plot heartbreaking yet riveting, the characters compelling and realistic.

Lennie is such a splendid character. Her way of dealing with the loss of her sister feels so very realistic and her confusion about life and boys something that all teenagers can recognise. After her sister dies her hormones goes wild and suddenly she finds herself drawn to boys around town. Two of them she actually starts relationships with.

I loved that the love story (with the boy she ends up with) developed at a relatively slow pace. Attraction was there from the get-go, but the actual relationship took a little longer. It made it feel very real, and it was portrayed how love actually works, not how some romance authors write it (instantly going ¨marry me!¨and doing so). It was a relationship that had twist and turns and absolutely not perfect. It has you rooting for them and hoping that they will make it in the end.

The love story that isn’t (with guy nr 2) is also very realistic and is actually quite understandable. You can see why Lennie does what she does, and although you might disagree with her choices you understand and can forgive her for it.

All characters are very compelling and add very important elements to the story. They feel so very natural and real (the days favourite word) and I wouldn’t mind getting to know all of them.

The story itself is amazing and so beautiful. It draws you in and really hits you right in the heart. I went from giggling to muttering angrily to trying my hardest not to cry (a few tears did escape). I loved the plot and it makes so much sense. Grief is so very individual and yet I recognised myself in a lot of what Lennie felt as she dealt with her own grief. Brilliantly done Jandy Nelson, I take my hat of for you.

Do I recommend it? 

Yes, I do. Be prepared for an emotional rollercoaster.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s