Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater (Wolves of Mercy Fall #1)

IMG_2229

Original Title: Shiver

Year Published: 2009

Published by: Scholastic

Number of Pages: 434

First Sentence: I remember lying in the snow, a small red spot of warm going cold, surrounded by wolves.

Goodreads Rating: 4/5

Plot:

When a local boy is killed by wolves, Grace’s small town becomes a place of fear and suspicion. But Grace can’t help being fascinated by the pack, and by one yellow-eyed wolf in particular. There’s something about him – something almost human. Then she meets a yellow-eyed boy whose familiarity takes her breath away…

My thoughts:

I really liked this book. I had read several reviews of it before actually reading it and didn’t know what to expect. The review were a mix of good and bad, so I went into it being prepared of disappointment. I was wrong. It was a really good and enjoyable book.

Grace is a likeable main character. She is tough and independent. She feels like a real person. Sam is also very easy to like. He is definitely a dreamy guy, with characteristics that I think the “perfect” guy should have. What I as per usual find negative is the fact that they fall so heels over head in love that they after 50 pages can’t live without each other. Don’t get me wrong, I love romance, but it is just a little bit too naively dramatic for me. It ends up being more annoying than romantic. Or maybe I’m just a pessimist.

The p.o.v. changes between the two characters which worked very well in this book. The plot is easy to follow and understand, and it entertains and keeps you interested from the first page until the last one.

What I don’t understand though, is why there is more than one book… The ending to this book is more than satisfactory and as far as I’m concerned it doesn’t need more. I do however, have the final two books and will read them. It just feels like the book either should have ended on a cliffhanger or with more loose ends. This ending didn’t leave me with any questions marks to be honest.

Do I recommend it? 

Yes, it is a really good and interesting book.

5 thoughts on “Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater (Wolves of Mercy Fall #1)

  1. And then in the next book it’s 3 or 4 POV’s and in the third even more… This is why I still haven’t read the third book in this series… But yes, Sam… Were you introduced to Cole in this book? Because he too is swoony 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

