Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

IMG_2230

Original Title: Carry On

Year Published: 2015

Published by: Macmillan

Number of Pages: 528

First Sentence: I walk to the bus station by myself.”

Goodreads Rating: 5/5

Plot:

Simon Snow just wants to relax and savor his last year at the Watford School of Magicks, but no one will let him. His girlfriend broke up with him, his best friend is a pest, and his mentor keeps trying to hide him away in the mountains where maybe he’ll be safe. Simon can’t even enjoy the fact that his roommate and longtime nemesis is missing, because he can’t stop worrying about the evil git. Plus there are ghosts. And vampires. And actual evil things trying to shut Simon down. When you’re the most powerful magician the world has ever known, you never get to relax and savor anything.

Carry On is a ghost story, a love story, a mystery and a melodrama. It has just as much kissing and talking as you’d expect from a Rainbow Rowell story — but far, far more monsters.

My thoughts:

Wow. Just wow.

I don’t even know where to start with this one. I loved the snippets of Simon Snow in Fangirl and was super excited when Rainbow Rowell announced that she was going to write a book just about them. I was super apprehensive though. It felt like it was more likely to crash and burn than succeed. Thankfully, I was super wrong. This surpassed my expectations and passed with flying colours. It has been argued that this is a parody of the HP books, but I think it is a tribute to the HP series. It is done with love and adoration, and that is how I interpreted it. You can be of a different opinion, let’s not argue about it.

The characters then. Simon and Baz are just fantastic. We got to know the characters slightly during Fangirl, and here we got to know them even better. I loved that you could see the characters actually evolve and grow up. I really felt like I was there with them. I loved that the p.o.v shifted between the characters, so we got as much of the picture as possible. Penelope and Agatha are also so fantastic, especially Penelope. Rowell actually adds some diversity to this book, having Penelope being of Indian descent and Baz of latin (I think). Good on ya Rowell.

Rowell’s writing is superb. The language just flows and it manages to easily suck you into the story. I adore the way Rowell writes because you can practically open any page and find a fantastic quote. It doesn’t feel forced and the beauty of it isn’t suffocating. It feels like a warm hug that makes butterfly take flight in your stomach.

What could be argued with this books is that there is no strong plot. It doesn’t matter. There is a plot, and to be honest, I definitely didn’t need more to enjoy this book. What has to be understood is that Rowell had to create a functional plot in a book that is supposed to be the final book in a fictional series. A complicated plot is difficult to make and it would have been easier if there actually had been 6 or 7 books before this. There weren’t and I think Rowell did excellent with what she had. I loved this book, just like I love all of Rowell’s work. She is fantastic and she definitely showed that with this book.

Do I recommend it? 

YES!! Go and read it now!!!

Leave a Reply

