The Lost Hero by Rick RIordan (Heroes of Olympus #1)

Original Title: The Lost Hero

Year Published: 2011

Published by:  Puffin Books

Number of Pages: 551

First Sentence: Even before he got electrocuted.Jason was having a rotten day.

Goodreads Rating: 4/5

Plot:

When Jason, Piper and Leo crash land at Camp Half-Blood, they have no idea what to expect. Apparently this is the only safe place for children of the Greek Gods – despite the monsters roaming the woods and demigods practising archery with flaming arrows and explosives.

My thoughts:

This was such a good book. I was sad that I had finished the Percy Jackson series so it was such a good thing that this series already existed. It pretty much picks up where the final book in the PJ series left off, with the new epic prophecy which means that new adventures are afoot.

In this one however, we don’t actually meet Percy. He is mentioned, but he is not one of the main characters. Instead, we get to meet three new demi-gods. Several characters from the PJ books do appear thought, but they don’t play any main parts. I thought this would be boring, but I actually fell heels over head in love with these new characters.

The first one is Jason, who has lost his memory and has no idea who he is or where he came from. For some reason, he can speak latin and keep referring to the gods in their latin form. He is also very skilled in battling monsters and the others can easily tell that he obviously has previous knowledge of the world of gods and monsters despite not knowing who he is.

The second is Piper. She is a bit insecure yet feisty, and her dad is a famous actor. She hides something really important from the other characters, which plagues her and affects her decisions. She is a badass though, and I really liked her.

The third one and my favourite is Leo. He is the joker, but just as valuable, if not more, as the other characters. He has a tragic backstory that will break your heart, and several times I just wanted to pluck him from the book and give him a cuddle.

The plot was fun and engaging. It was fast paced and action filled without being too much. Just like the PJ books we have the main plot with several minor ones happening along the way. Riordan balances the different plotlines perfectly and it is easy to keep track of them.

The one negative thing was that I didn’t get as absorbed in this book as I thought I would. I think it might be because it is from three points-of-views, which can sometimes make it mildly confusing. But as soon as it felt like I got a grasp of the different characters the story finally managed to completely hook me.

Do I recommend it? 

Yes, I do. You do not need to read the Percy Jackson series first (although I recommend it), you can start directly with this.

19 thoughts on “The Lost Hero by Rick RIordan (Heroes of Olympus #1)

Leave a Reply

