The Titan’s Curse by Rick Riordan (Percy Jackson and the Olympians #3)

Original Title: The Titan’s Curse

Year Published: 2007

Published by: Disney Hyperion

Number of Pages: 312

First Sentence: The Friday before winter break, my mom packed me an overnight bag and a few deadly weapons and took me to a new boarding school.

Goodreads Rating: 5/5

Plot:

IT’S NOT EVERYDAY YOU FIND YOURSELF IN COMBAT WITH A HALF-LION, HALF-HUMAN.

But when you’re the son of a Greek god, it happens. And now my friend Annabeth is missing, a goddess is in chains and only five half-blood heroes can join the quest to defeat the doomsday monster.

Oh, and guess what? The Oracle has predicted that not all of us will survive…

My thoughts:

My infatuation with the Percy Jackson series has gone completely out of control. After a shaky start, I’m now left wondering why I never read the books earlier. They are just so amazing.

The Titan’s curse is the third book in the series and so much fun to read. We get to know Percy and Annabeth even better and see just how far Luke is willing to go in his quest for revenge. In this one, we also get to meet Thalia, daughter of Zeus. She is a complete badass and I adore her so much. She is a sass master alongside being a badass, but she is both flawed and shown to be scared, characteristics that make her human.

We also get acquainted with Bianca and Nico deAngelo, two demi-gods whose background and parentage is a complete mystery. They will make your heartache and Nico is a character you just want to hug and tell him that “everything will be alright”.

Also introduced in this book is the Huntresses of Artemis, a band of young girls that serve the goddess Artemis. They are just so awesome and if I was still a teenager I wouldn’t mind joining up with them.

Once again the plot is interesting, fun and overall entertaining. There is never a dull moment and I found myself unable to put this book down. I love the combination of humour and adventure, the fact that it both has you laughing and sitting on the edge of your seat in anticipation. Riordan is truly a master at what he does, and these books, although aimed at middle-grade readers, are entertaining for readers of any age.

Do I recommend it? 

Yes yes yes!

Leave a Reply

