Ten books I will probably never read/finish

toptentuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the Brokeandbookish

I remembered! Yay me! The original meme this week is actually only “books I’ll never read”, but I’ve seen several people adding the “finish” bit and I figured that was a great idea. Here goes!

  1. 50 Shades of Grey by E.L. James. I’ve said a thousand times that I should read it only to have a proper leg to stand on when it comes to discussing why the books are so bad. But since I’m so against this book, I probably never will.
  2. Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë. I have this on my shelf and have tried to read it but by golly, it is boring as hell.
  3. Les Miserables by Victor Hugo. I love the musical and the film, but HAVE YOU SEEN THE BOOK?! It is a proper brick and it gives me heart palpitations just looking at it.
  4. The Vampire Diaries by L.J. Smith. I never liked the series and the books don’t seem that great. So no.
  5. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. I don’t understand the hype when it comes to JG and this is one of those books that people seem to love and the concept just puts me off. Not my type of thing.
  6. Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan. I started this book, made it to chapter 3 and then wanted to throw it out the window. I had borrowed it from a friend so it wasn’t possible, but I did it several times in my head.
  7. Loves’ Conqueror by Renee Hand. I read one and a half chapter of this book and then wanted to throw it out the window. This time it was on my kindle and I’m not gonna destroy my iPad because of a horribly bad book.
  8. Anything by a Nobel prize winner in literature. Because it is not my thing, and usually the books are just so far out of my genre type that it’s not even funny.
  9. Moby Dick by Herman Neville. Why is this even a classic? Why?!
  10. At this rate, I will never read the Game of Thrones books. I have started book number 1 three times and have never made it past chapter three. I do own all the books though so I kinda feel like I need to read them.

So that’s it. There are probably more, but this are the ones that came to mind. I did have to look at other bloggers posts though to first come up with books, which made me have several “aha-moments”.

Which books do you think that you’ll never read/finish?

6 thoughts on “Ten books I will probably never read/finish

  1. I agree with so many of these books! I think the John Green hype comes from his Nerd Fighters fanbase. I am not a regular, but I have been known to enjoy his vlog with his brother when I catch it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think they are quite common for people to pick actually, funnily enough 😛 Seen loads pick several of them as well 🙂 I did enjoy his “Looking for Alaska” but other than that I don’t get why he’s so popular. I have seen his vlogs as well and he seems super cool, but his writing just isn’t my thing 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Wuthering Heights was a frustrating read. The majority of the characters I hated especially Heathcliff. I have similar reasons as to why I am hesitant on reading Les Miserables. The size of the book intimidates me.ahaha

    Liked by 1 person

    • I thought that I might have been to young when I first started it, but I looked at it a year ago and literally screamed in frustration. The Brontë sisters were a little bit to fond of writing frustrating books. Les Miserables seems awesome but the sheer size of it is just terrible. Good thing I’m not the only one 😛

      Liked by 1 person

    • The stage production with a good Javert is much better than the film. I’d like to read the book only to get more information and details about the whole story. Sadly enough there is no singing in the book (total downer) which is probably what makes the stage production endurable 😛

      Like

Leave a Reply

