Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

sisterhood-of-the-world-bloggers-award11

Thank you so much to Erika (no, not me) for the nomination!

These are the five rules to follow:

  1. Thank the blogger who nominated you, linking back to their site.
  2. Put the Award logo on your blog.
  3. Answer the ten questions sent to you.
  4. Make up ten new questions for your nominees to answer.
  5. Nominate ten blogs.

Questions:

Did you have a book that meant a lot to you as a child?

The first two Harry Potter books meant a lot to me. I fell in love with the world of HP and

Is there any author or book that you collect and will always welcome multiple editions of the same title?

I would never say no to multiple editions of most of my books. At the moment, the only one I have more than one version of is the Harry Potter books.

Say that you find yourself judging a book by its cover (not that we ever do that!); what sort of covers do you go for? Are there any that are an absolute turn off?

The cover actually means a lot to me. I go for pretty ones, and “pretty” spans a lot of covers. But a cover that seems like it has been given much thought is definitely attractive to me. Covers that look like something I would make myself in photoshop are a total turn off, but if the story seems good I will still read it.

If you could pick any imaginary animal to bring home to Mom with an earnest, “Can we keep him??”, what animal would it be?

A talking wolf. Come on, that would be so awesome!

Is there any book to movie adaptation that you simply refuse to watch? No way, no how, you’re not even giving them the opportunity to mess it up?

There are a few I will unlikely watch again because the books are so superior. But I won’t disregard a movie adaption just because.

What is the most unusual book you’ve ever read? (Plot, writing style, chapter layout, etc?)

Honestly can’t think of one. I tend to stick to the genres I like and therefore don’t really find them to be unusual.

Is there any book or series that you’ve read that is so totally outside of your normal genre, but you loved it and would recommend it to others as a “take a risk!” type of book?

Horrorstör by Grady Hendrix. I am easily frightened and thought that I would have a hard time finishing this book, but I ended up loving it. The design, the story and the way it was written was just amazing. Totally recommend!

Do you have any bookish collections, or anything you covet and hope to someday collect? Candles, artwork, bookcases?

My books themselves are enough. I love my books and treat them like my children. Otherwise, I’m not that into collecting things.

What book has been on your TBR pile the longest, but you just can’t convince yourself to pick it up?

Oh wow. Good question. Until I read The Hobbit that one would have been my answer. But right now I’m not sure. I think Outlander is the book I look at the most and think I should read but just never seem able to pick up. None of my books have been on my shelf for more than two years though, which to me isn’t that long.

You get a $500 gift card for all things bookish – do you run to your nearest bookstore and spend like a fiend? Or do you create pro/con lists (a la Rory Gilmore) to make sure you get just the right & perfect & wonderful bookish things? Or are you eyeing a particularly expensive bookcase somewhere?

I order my books online (cheaper). I do have a look through my tbr list but don’t stick to it if I suddenly find a book that seems really interesting.

The ten blogs I nominate in no particular order:

  1. Kayla
  2. Bella
  3. Travellinginmybookcase
  4. Galit
  5. Beckmank
  6. 0crazyantics0
  7. Kath
  8. Danielle Miller
  9. Readitandweep
  10. Louloureads

Your questions! (and I suck at these, I really do)

  1. All-time favourite book?
  2. Most anticipated 2015 release. Why is it your most anticipated release?
  3. Where do you prefer to read? Do you have a special place?
  4. Favourite genre and why?
  5. Book you recommend to pretty much anyone you meet?
  6. What do you do to get out of reading funks? Do you ever get them?
  7. Does it have to be silent around you when you read? Are you bothered at all by your surroundings?
  8. Why did you start blogging?
  9. Do you bring books with you when you travel?
  10. Favourite thing to do apart from reading?
6 thoughts on “Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

Leave a Reply

